Year 2023: India's domestic air passenger traffic reaches record high

2023 was an eventful year for the Ministry of Civil Aviation as India's domestic air passenger traffic hit a record high and 60 new RCS routes were launched during the year.

According to the ministry, on November 19 this year, airlines in India flew 4,56,910 domestic passengers. This was the highest single-day air traffic since the pandemic hit, marking a significant 7.4 percent rise over the pre-Covid average—a clear sign of recovery and resilience in the skies.

A total of 60 new RCS routes have been launched from January 01, 2023 to December 21, 2023, the ministry said.

6 airports are operational namely Rourkela, Hollongi, Jamshedpur, Cooch Behar, Utkela and Shivamogga.

12 new RCS routes have been launched in North Eastern states of the country and 154 new RCS routes have been provided under UDAN 4.2 & 5.0.

RCS-UDAN was launched in 2016 to enable air operations to connect various regions on unserved/underserved routes, promote balanced regional development and provide affordable air travel to the masses. RCS-UDAN is a self-financing scheme, with a nominal tax levied on each departure on main (trunk) routes to subsidize the operations of UDAN flights.

Among other achievements of the Ministry, more than 91 lakh passengers have used the Digi Yatra facility and more than 35 lakh users have downloaded the app.

Digi Yatra is a program based on Facial Recognition Technology (FRT) developed to achieve contactless, seamless processing of passengers at airports. The scheme basically envisages that any passenger can pass through the various checkpoints at the airport using facial features to establish identity through a paperless and contactless process. Passengers can check-in on the platform from the comfort of their homes.

READ  At least 1,301 people die in extreme heat during Mecca Hajj

„So far, more than 35 lakh users have downloaded the Digi Yatra app,” the ministry said.

Digi Yatra has been launched at 13 airports.

on 01.12.2022 at Delhi, Bengaluru and Varanasi airports. Hyderabad, Pune, Kolkata and Vijayawada on 31.03.2023 and Ahmedabad, Mumbai, Cochin, Guwahati, Jaipur and Lucknow in August, 2023.

“Since its launch, more than 91 lakh passengers have availed DG Yatra facility to travel through airports. Eventually, all airports will be gradually covered by DG Yatra,” the ministry said.

By 2023, three greenfield airports – Mopa, Sivamokka and Rajkot – will become operational.

The Government of India has formulated the Greenfield Airports Policy, 2008 which provides guidelines, procedure and conditions for establishing new greenfield airports in India. The Government of India has so far given 'in-principle' approval for setting up 21 greenfield airports at Mopa in Goa, Navi Mumbai, Shirdi and Sindhudurg in Maharashtra, Kalaburaki in Karnataka, Vijayapura, Hassan and Shivamogga, Dabra. Gwalior in Madhya Pradesh, Kushinagar and Noida (Jewar) in Uttar Pradesh, Tolera and Rajkot in Gujarat, Karaikal in Puducherry, Takadarthi, Pokhapuram and Orwagal (Kurnool) in Andhra Pradesh, Durgapur in West Bengal, Bhagyong in Sikkim, Kannur in Kerala and Itanagar in Arunachal Pradesh across the country.

Of these, 12 greenfield airports namely Durgapur, Shirdi, Sindhudurg, Bagyong, Kannur, Kalaburki, Oravakkal, Kushinagar, Itanagar, Mopa, Shivammoka and Rajkot have become operational.

DGCA has processed 23908 number of air crew license issuance and renewal applications through eGCA's single window digital platform in 2023.

Dodaj komentarz

Twój adres e-mail nie zostanie opublikowany. Wymagane pola są oznaczone *