Premier League Darts: Michael van Gerwen beats Gerwyn Price to win record seventh title | Darts news

Michael van Gerwen made Premier League history by winning his seventh title, leaving the great Bill Taylor behind; Sky Sports has retained Australia’s title for the World Cup of Darts, which runs from June 15-18 at the Eisborthalle in Frankfurt.

By Raz Mirza & Megan Wellens at The O2

22:40, UK, Thursday 25 May 2023

Michael van Gerwen won his seventh Premier League title with an average of 105.4, beating Gerwyn Price 11-5 in the final at the O2.

The Dutchman, who shared six wins with Taylor 12 months ago, overtook Welshman Price after a masterful performance to overcome him with a scintillating display of arrows.

Van Gerwen, who has dominated the competition since winning his first title 10 years ago, was a doubt to take part after pulling out of the final weekend round in Aberdeen last week with a shoulder injury.

Nobody loves the O2 arena like him, and he got the better of Price in the final after he won 10-8 in a thrilling semi-final against rival Michael Smith.

Premier League – Final night at London’s O2

semi-final Kerwin Price 10-2 Johnny Clayton
Michael Smith 8-10 Michael van Gerwen
final Kerwin Price 5-11 Michael van Gerwen

Van Gerwen and Price trade blows in Premier League final with incredible checkouts

There was nothing to separate the pairing of Price and van Gerwen in the first five legs, with the Dutch ace blowing away 139-170 to open up a 4-2 advantage.

MVG underlined his immense scoring prowess. Caught in the next game and then again with an astonishing 128 finish to go 6-2 in double 10 and average 108.

READ  Will Jayson Tatum finally hang up the 18th banner in Boston? Key Takeaways as "Unicorn" Kristaps Porzingis Helps Celtics to 6-0 Run

Price responded with a brilliant 161 bullseye finish to reduce the arrears, but Van Gerwen knew he was four legs away from the title at that interval.

However, a missed four darts from the Dutchman allowed 'The Iceman’ to fall behind 7-4 to double 12, but MVG hit straight back with an 11-darter, sinking double 2 to stay close to glory.

An exhibition 150 on double 18 moved van Gerwen up 10-5, and it ended in the next round as she retained her crown.

Most Premier League titles

7 – Michael van Gerwen

6 – Kerwin Price

2 – Gary Anderson

1 – James Wade, Raymond Van Barneveld, Glen Durant, Johnny Clayton

MVG believes it’s the start of a 'beautiful year’ and he’s hungrier than ever.

„I’ve been working really hard lately. Obviously, I had problems last week and we all know Kerwynn Price is in fantastic form and Michael Smith has won the last three weeks,” said the 34-year-old.

„I get questions all the time about when I’m going to do it again, so I put pressure on myself. I keep doing it, but today I think that’s what pushed me and that’s what made me win.”

„I think I played some fantastic darts today. What more could you want than to win this trophy?

“You always have to pick the right moments, but to come back at the O2 and play like guys like Michael Smith, Kerwyn Price, you have to be on your A game.

„I had to do something special today and I’m so glad I was able to do it. I worked hard for this.”

Price is still searching for his first title, and an impressive campaign in which he won four of the weekly rounds ended in disappointment.

He was frustrated after the defeat: „I couldn’t find trebles, doubles, I couldn’t find anything, sometimes that’s how it happens.

„It hit me. I felt like I’d lost him, I’m still missing, I’m not even close, I don’t know what happened.”

Midway through the final against van Gerwen, Price took a quick break to 'fix’ his javelin.

MVG avenges World Championship defeat

Van Gerwen defied a late rally from Smith to progress to a ninth Premier League final.

Van Gerwen faced Smith again in January’s historic World Championship final, but the St Helens star made the perfect start by scoring 128 for an early break.

MVG then broke 12 darts to take the lead from the world No. 1, pushing four legs into the spin for a 5-2 lead.

Smith’s incredible 91 finish had the O2 on the edge of their seats. The delayed reaction was even better!

The Dutchman continued to bowl some dazzling javelin runs, going 7-3 up at the break and averaging 108.29.

Smith responded with a 114 checkout after the restart to reduce the deficit to three legs and a crucial 86 checkout to peg 'Bully Boy’ back 8-6.

Van Gerwen then wasted five darts in the doubles, allowing Smith a 91 on the bullseye to trail 8-7, but quickly regained his composure to move MVG a leg away from victory.

After 'Mighty Mike’ lost two match darts, Smith saved the match by skinning the bull’s 123 checkout, but it ended in the next leg as van Gerwen progressed to his ninth Premier League final.

Price wins all Welsh clash

Price was too good for fellow Welshman Clayton in their semi-final clash

The first semi-final was an all-Welsh affair and it was Price who came out on top with a 10-2 win over Jonny Clayton.

Price got off to a blistering start to take the first five legs without reply, with Clayton averaging just under 86.

Price scored a superb 131 checkout to defeat Clayton

Although 'The Ferret’ stopped the rot, Price’s consistency in trebles continued, taking a 12-darter in the seventh leg.

From there it was easy for 'The Iceman’ and although Clayton made it 8-2, he took a massive 131 to complete the win.

Iceman is speechless after defeating Clayton’s World Cup teammate

What’s next for Sky Sports?

Simon Whitlock and Damon Hedda will defend their World Cup of Darts titles

The annual World Cup of Darts will be expanded from the previous 32 teams to 40 teams, with a group stage and doubles competition for Australia to defend the title over four days of play at Frankfurt’s Eissporthalle from June 15-18.

In a radical change from previous years, Iceland, Ukraine and Bahrain are set to make their debuts in the tournament.

Catch all the action from the World Cup of Darts – June 15-18 – live on Sky Sports.

Dodaj komentarz

Twój adres e-mail nie zostanie opublikowany. Wymagane pola są oznaczone *