Iowa State won the 2024 Big 12 wrestling championship

Tulsa, Oklahoma – Iowa State won its first Big 12 wrestling championship in 2009 Sunday night at the BOK Center. The Cyclones scored 152.5 points as a conference-leading five wrestlers advanced to the finals, resulting in two Big 12 individual titles.

It was their fourth conference title in program history after winning three consecutive years from 2007-2009.

Oklahoma State finished second with 141.5 points, while South Dakota State had its highest finish since 2018 with 122 points. Missouri (115.5 points) and Northern Iowa (100.0 points) rounded out the top five.

Iowa State head coach Kevin Dresser earned Coach of the Year honors for the second time in his career, while Northern Iowa's Parker Keckison was named the 2024 Big 12 Championship Most Outstanding Wrestler by league coaches.

Championship finals
Wyoming's Jor Volk opened the night with a 3-2 upset victory over OSU's Troy Spradley to capture the Cowboys' first Big 12 title at 125 pounds.

Oklahoma State's Dayton Fix became the first wrestler in conference history to win the same weight class five times. Fix posted an 8-5 decision over Iowa State's Evan Frost to claim the 133-pound title.

ISU's Anthony Echemendia earned a 4-2 decision over UNI's Gale Happel for the Cyclones' first individual title of the night. Echemendia is the first Hurricane to win the 141-pound title since Ian Parker in 2020.

West Virginia's Ty Waters became the second straight No. 3 and the first Mountaineer to win the 149-pound title. The freshman beat OSU's Jordan Williams through injury and became the fourth WVU competitor in program history to win an individual title.

At 157 pounds, Ryder Downey collected his 14Th Became the first Northern Iowa wrestler to win the 157-pound title. Downey defeated ISU's Cody Chittum 5-3.

Missouri's Keegan O'Toole won his second Big 12 title in three years as he bested ISU's David Carr in the 2023 Big 12 final at 165-pounds.

Kate DeVos became the second Jackrabbit to win the Big 12 title and the first since 2018. DeVos defeated NDSU's Kavan Sachs by a 6-4 decision for the 174-pound crown.

Northern Iowa's Parker Keckiesen captured his fourth straight 184-pound title for the seventh year in a row with the Panthers. Keckeisen posted a 14-5 major decision win over OSU's Dustin Platt to win the second weight class of the night for UNI.

In his fourth appearance in the 197-pound finals, SDSU's Tanner Sloan captured his first Big 12 title to help the Jackrabbits finish third in the team standings. Sloan finished with a 1-0 decision win over Missouri's Rocky Elam.

To cap off the night, Yonker Bastida (ISU) won an undefeated battle in the heavyweight class. Bastida defeated two-time Big 12 champion Wyatt Hendrickson (Air Force) 10-7.

Session III
To start the consolation bracket, West Virginia's Jed Strickenberger pinned Iowa State's Kaisen Derukina in 4:58 to take third place at 125 pounds. SDSU's Tanner Jordan claimed 5Th-UNCO's Steve Paulin defeated CBU's Elijah Griffin in 7 in a match against Missouri's Noah Surdin.Th Place Bot.

Dominic Serrano went 6-1 at 133-pounds for Northern Colorado, while OU's Jace Koelser and UNI's Julian Farber finished fifth and seventh in the class, respectively.

Missouri's Josh Edmond (141 pounds) posted an 8-1 decision win over OSU's No. 2 Daegan Jamison for bronze, while SDSU's Clay Carlson and UVU's Hayden Drury took fifth and seventh, respectively.

ISU's Casey Swiderski finished with a technical fall over Wyoming's Gabe Willocell to win the 149-pound consolation bracket. Oklahoma's Willie McDault won the fifth-place race, with SDSU's Alec Martin finishing 7th.Th– Spatial competition.

SDSU's Cale Swenson defeated OSU's Teague Travis 5-4 at 157 pounds. Missouri's Brock Mauler finished fifth, with UNCO's Vinny Jerbon winning the race for seventh.

OSU's Izzak Olejnik defeated WVU's Peyton Hall by a 5-1 decision at 165 pounds. Air Force's Giano Petrucelli won the fifth-place match and OU's Cale Carlson won the seventh-place match.

OSU's Brayden Thompson finished his week with a win in the consolation bracket for third place at 174 pounds. WVU's Brady Conley finished fifth and UNI's Jared Simma was seventh at 174 pounds.

Air Force's Sam Wolf defeated SDSU's Bennett Berge 4-3 at 184 pounds for third place, while Colton Hawks won the fifth-place match for the Tigers and Dennis Robbin (WVU) won by fall for seventh.

Stephen Buchanan finished third for Oklahoma at 197 pounds, going 6-4, while Wyatt Voelker (UNI) recorded a fifth-place win by fall. Evan Bockman (UVU) rounded out the weight class with a seventh-place match win.

Missouri's Zach Elam finished third at heavyweight, followed by OSU's Conner Doucet (5-2) and SDSU's Luke Rasmussen's decision wins for fifth and seventh, respectively.

Final Team Standings
1. Iowa State 152.5
2. Oklahoma State 141.5
3. South Dakota State 122.0
4. Missouri 115.5
5. Northern Iowa 100.0
6. West Virginia 97.5
7. Oklahoma 68.5
7. Wyoming 68.5
9. Air Force 45.0
10. Northern Colorado 33.5
11. North Dakota State 28.0
12. Utah Valley 22.0
13. California Baptist 16.0


READ  PFA urges unions to support equal rights for England women's players

Dodaj komentarz

Twój adres e-mail nie zostanie opublikowany. Wymagane pola są oznaczone *