Olympic champion Gaslick leads Australia’s rugby sevens gold medal at the Paris Games.

BRISBANE, Australia (AP) — Charlotte Coslick will lead Australia’s World Series champion team to the Paris Olympics to win her second gold medal after winning the honor when rugby sevens debuted at the 2016 Summer Games.

The women’s and men’s Australian teams for Paris were confirmed on Wednesday, with Koslick and Sharni Small in the women’s team and three-time Olympians Nick Maloof and Henry Hutchison in the men’s team.

„We’ve worked really hard to get to this point where we’re chasing a gold medal,” said the 29-year-old Kaslik, a two-time World Sevens Player of the Year. „I’ve loved every moment leading these players and we’re in a good place.

„Paris is an incredible city that will showcase the best of our players. We can’t wait to get there.

After beating New Zealand for the first ever Olympic gold awarded in rugby sevens, Australia’s women failed to make the medal playoffs in Tokyo.

But the women’s team entered Paris as World Series champions after beating Tokyo Olympic gold medalists New Zealand in the semi-finals of last month’s series finale and then beating France to win the title.

The women’s team is grouped with Ireland, South Africa and Great Britain in the 12-team Olympic tournament from July 28-30.

The men’s team includes Mark Navaganitawas, who recently decided to leave rugby union and sign with the Sydney Roosters in the National Rugby League.

Australia’s men reached the finals of two stops on the World Series tour, finishing fourth in the league stage behind Argentina, Ireland and New Zealand.

READ  University of North Carolina Athletics

The men’s competition begins on July 24, two days before the official opening ceremony with Australia in a group against Argentina, Samoa and Kenya.

„Special congratulations to Sharni, Charlotte, Nick and Henry for three Olympic Games – athletes in Rio and now history-makers in Paris,” said Australia’s Deputy Chef de Mission Ken Wallace.


Australia Teams:

Girls: Charlotte Coslick (captain), Sharni Small, Dominique du Toit, Thea Hinds, Madison Levy, Faith Nathan, Saria Bagi, Bridget Clark, Deegan Levy, Isabella Nassar, Caitlin Shave and Bien Derrida.

Men: Nick Maloof (capt), Henry Hutchison, Nathan Lawson, Maurice Longbottom, Dietrich Roche, Ben Dowling, Matthew Gonzalez, Mark Navakanitaves, Henry Patterson, Hayden Sargent, Corey Toole and James Turner.


AP Summer Olympics: https://apnews.com/hub/2024-paris-olympic-games

Dodaj komentarz

Twój adres e-mail nie zostanie opublikowany. Wymagane pola są oznaczone *