Match Report – ENG vs NAM 34th Match, Group B, June 15, 2024

Namibia Vs chose to bowl England

Namibia won the toss late and elected to bowl first against England in a rain-affected T20 World Cup Group B match in Antigua.

England were drenched by persistent rain, which delayed the toss by 3 hours and eventually reduced the overs, but, crucially for the defending champions, it would be a match if the weather cooperated from now on. Powerplay lasts for three overs and a bowler can bowl a maximum of three overs.

They start the day looking to avoid a second wash-out in four games and beat Namibia, then await the result of Australia vs Scotland to determine whether they will progress to the Super Eight stage.

A resounding win over Oman helped England’s cause after a sluggish start in which their opening game – against Scotland – was rained out and they lost to Australia by 36 runs.

Early on Saturday, though late, England could control their destiny from the elements. Meanwhile, Namibia can’t progress to the next stage after one win and two losses.

England made two changes to the team that beat Oman, bringing in Sam Curran for Will Jacks and Chris Jordan for Mark Wood. Namibia have strengthened their batting line-up with JP Godze replacing Ben Shikongo.

It will be the first meeting between England and Namibia in T20 Internationals – only the second in official international history – and will be played on the same pitch used in England’s record 101-ball eight-wicket victory over Oman. Sir Vivian Richards Stadium has a short boundary of 59 meters for the right-hander’s off side and 69 meters for the leg side.

READ  Liverpool news: Reds chase Sporting Lisbon star, Allardyce Klopp calls 'rubbish'

England captain Jos Buttler said he would have opted to bowl but was relieved to play after a tense wait. „It’s frustrating, but we’re happy to get a game,” he said of the toss.

Namibia: Nicolas Davin, 2 Michael van Lincoln, 3 John Frylink, 4 JP Gotze, 5 Gehrard Erasmus (capt), 6 JJ Schmidt, 7 David Wise, 8 Jane Green, 9 Reuben Trumpelman, 10 Bernard Scholtz, 11 Jack Pressel.

England: Phil Salt, 2 Jos Buttler (capt & wk), 3 Jonny Bairstow, 4 Harry Brook, 5 Moeen Ali, 6 Liam Livingstone, 7 Sam Curran, 8 Chris Jordan, 9 Jofra Archer, 10 Adil Rashid, 11 Reece Tapley

Valkerie Baynes is the general editor of women’s cricket at ESPNcricinfo

Dodaj komentarz

Twój adres e-mail nie zostanie opublikowany. Wymagane pola są oznaczone *