Fallon Sheragh qualifies for Grand Slam of Darts after PDC Women’s Series ends | Darts news

As the women’s series season ended at Wigan, Fallon Sherag and Natalie Gilbert both won the title, but Sherag stole Sunday’s double-header; Next up is the 17th Grand Slam of Darts from November 11 to 19 in Wolverhampton.

22:07, UK, Sunday 15 October 2023

Fallon Sherag sealed qualification for the 2023 Grand Slam of Darts after winning her third PDC Women’s Series title on Sunday weekend as Tamworth’s Natalie Gilbert finished the year with victory in Event 24.

Ahead of her sixth PDC Women’s Series weekend of the year, Sherac trailed Mikuru Suzuki by £2,200 on the Order of Merit, but she sealed her Grand Slam spot with an event following her 23 exploits.

Watch Sherock become the first woman to hit the TV nine-darter!

Sherock celebrated back-to-back wins on Saturday to establish a £1,500 buffer against Suzuki, who lost a narrow first round to Tetta Hedman in Event 23.

It meant a run to the semi-finals would give Sherak an unassailable advantage in second place, and the former Nordic Darts Masters finalist delivered the goods to ensure his return to Wolverhampton.

The 29-year-old confirmed her Grand Slam eligibility with a third win over Beau Greaves – the Women’s Series Order of Merit leader.

Sherac continued her charge by thrashing Angela Kirkwood 5-1 in the last four, and she secured her fifth Women’s Series win of 2023 – and fourth in a row – with a 5-3 victory over Ryan O’Sullivan.

An emotional Gilbert capped the campaign with Event 24 glory to become the tenth player to win the PDC Women’s Series title since the tour’s inception in 2020.

READ  Jurgen Klopp explains why Liverpool's away form has made him an 'alcoholic'

The 40-year-old kept her cool to secure a landmark victory over Lorraine Winstanley in the Event 24 showpiece.

Despite an underwhelming finish to her campaign, Greaves topped the Women’s Series Order of Merit with £29,400, winning 12 titles throughout the year.

Greaves, who won the Women’s World Matchplay title in July, will make her Grand Slam debut in November despite opting not to compete at this year’s World Darts Championship.

Sherak will join Mikuru Suzuki at this year’s World Darts Championship

Sheracin’s five titles put her second on the Women’s Series Order of Merit with £17,200, which she will compete in at both the Grand Slam and the World Championship of Darts.

Following his debut in 2019/2020, Suzuki joined Sherragh at Alexandra Palace in 2023, finishing on £13,600 following a hat-trick of wins.

Abbie Davies on what Sherragh has done for the game

2023 PDC Women’s Series
Sunday, October 15
Robin Park Tennis Centre
Event 23
quarter final

Angela Kirkwood 5-3 Rose Mort
Fallon Sherock 5-3 Beau Greaves
Rhian O’Sullivan 5-0 Kirsi Viinikainen
Kirsty Hutchinson 5-2 Roos van der Velde

Fallon Sherock 5-1 Angela Kirkwood
Rhian O’Sullivan 5-2 Kirsty Hutchinson

Fallon Sherock 5-3 Ryan O’Sullivan

Event 24
quarter final

Kirsty Hutchinson 5-3 Robin Byrne
Natalie Gilbert 5-3 Noa-Lynn Van Leeuwen
Beau Greaves 5-2 Vicky Broom
Lorraine Winstanley 5-2 Casey Gallagher

Natalie Gilbert 5-4 Kirsty Hutchinson
Lorraine Winstanley 5-3 Beau Greaves

Natalie Gilbert 5-3 Lorraine Winstanley

Catch the seventeenth edition of the Grand Slam of Darts at Aldersley Leisure Village from 11-19 November. Now stream your favorite sports and more

READ  Pant stars as India beats Bangladesh in practice clash

Dodaj komentarz

Twój adres e-mail nie zostanie opublikowany. Wymagane pola są oznaczone *