Latest Match Report – UAE vs West Indies 3rd ODI 2023

Toss: United Arab Emirates Choosing to bat vs West Indies

UAE won the toss and struck first to avoid a 3-0 sweep in the third ODI in Sharjah.

Having already wrapped up the series, West Indies made a number of changes, including retiring their appointed captain Shai Hope. With Johnson Charles listed as West Indies’ wicketkeeper in Hope’s absence, all-rounder Roston Chase took charge. Opening batsman and vice-captain Brandon King was also rested, while highly-rated Alik Athanase made his international debut for the West Indies.

Athanas is the highest run-scorer in the 2018 U-19 World Cup ahead of Shubman Gill. But early in his domestic career he was abandoned by the Windward Islands. That snub spurred him to work even harder to become one of the mainstays of Windward Islands’ batting and the team’s captain. In the Super50 Cup, West Indies’ 50-over domestic tournament, Athanas was the Windward Islands’ top scorer with 292 runs in six innings at an average of 48.66 and a strike rate of 96.05, and the sixth highest overall.

All-rounders Dominic Drakes and Odion Smith gave way to Kevin Sinclair and Keemo Ball. Sinclair joins Kevin Hodge, Yannick Karia and stand-in captain Chase as West Indies’ fourth spin-bowling option.

The UAE team also made several changes as Ethan D’Souza and Muhammad Jawadullah made their ODI debuts. D’Souza represented Abu Dhabi in the T10 league last year, while Jawadullah recently played for Sharjah Warriors in the ILT20. Aryansh Sharma, Asif Khan, Basil Hameed, Sanjit Sharma, Aditya Shetty and Zahoor Khan were dropped from the squad.

Leg-spinner Karthik Meiyappan returned to the XI after leaking 55 runs in 4.2 overs in the series opener, while vice-captain Vrithiya Arvind took back the wicket-keeping gloves from Aryansh.

READ  Third Rugby World Cup pool match kick-off time, TV channel and team news – The Irish Times

United Arab Emirates: 1 Muhammad Wasim (capt), 2 Lovepreet Singh, 3 Vrithya Aravind (weekly), 4 Rameez Shahjad, 5 Ethan D’Souza, 6 Rohan Mustafa, 7 Ali Naseer, 8 Ayan Afzal Khan, 9 Karthik Meiyappan, 10 Junaid Siddiqui, 10 Junaid Siddiqui, Jawadullah

West Indies: 1 Alik Athanas, 2 Johnson Charles (week), 3 Shamar Brooks, 4 Ramon Reiffer, 5 Keezy Cardy, 6 Gavem Hodge, 7 Roston Chase (capt), 8 Yannick Karia, 9 Kevin Sinclair, 10 Akeem Jordan, 11 Keemo Paul

Dodaj komentarz

Twój adres e-mail nie zostanie opublikowany. Wymagane pola są oznaczone *